Modern Action Star Memento #2: Shia LeBeouf

February 13, 2012 at 5:58 am 4 comments


D posed a challenge to the new generation of action stars Hollywood has produced in recent years. I’ve decided to throw my hat into the ring because D can’t have all the fun. That being said there is a particular one of these “action” stars I feel needs my personal attention. This star is Shia LeBeouf, who it seems has made it his job to ruin everything I held in high regard as a child. We’ve got the Indiana Jones franchise of movies being destroyed by the last installment that Lucas and Spielberg just needed to make, the Wallstreet sequel that didn’t need to be, and of course the Transformers movies.  I understand dealing this kind of damage to cinema is a team effort, but I feel there are three issues that need to be addressed.

The first issue to discuss is the paradox of Mr. LeBeouf. He is cast in big budget action films sometimes as a lead, other times as sidekick, when he’s clearly a better fit for the comedy genre. It strikes me as an odd career choice. LeBeouf can be funny in the movies, but scripts have called for him to tough to a certain degree or in some cases to portray a character arc of whiney kid to hero. This wouldn’t be a problem if he could pull of what I know the script, directors, and audience call for in the roles he’s cast in, which is GROWTH. Every single one of the characters he’s cast to play is supposed to be a dynamic character. In Transformers,the character Sam Witwicky is supposed to change from a teenager with self confidence issues, to the man who stares down the most terrible of Decepticon, Megatron. Did this happen? No. Over the course of three films where the themes are supposed to be about the growth of a character, there is a constant stream of whining from LeBeouf, and no hints that the experiences have changed him,

My major problem with LeBeouf though, is his acting is annoying. There really isn’t any other word for it. This may be just a pet peeve, but I can’t stand background characters that scream like littler girls for half of the movie, and spend the other half complaining. Out of the kindness of my heart, I’m not even mentioning Eagle Eye, where he topped himself by being both annoying and boring, but then again, I guess I just did.  I understand that this may be an issue of type casting, and if it is, my heart goes out to young Shia but he seems to have embraced it.  He works out so that he can look tough and get more work, but then when we see him, we get the Sam Witwickys of the cinema world. The best scene he’s ever produced which I can watch over and over again with joy in my heart, is in Constantine, where he gets flung around like a rag doll by an archangel and dies.

The final issue is how he is being groomed to be an action star. Giving him roles where he’s basically studying under actors like Harrison Ford, Keanu Reeves, and Michael Douglass troubles me. It takes only one man to say “I’ve got an idea” and Indiana Jones prequels will be made. Combine this with movies like Wallstreet: Money Never Sleeps where Shia is expected to live up to Charlie Sheen’s performance, and in no time you can guess who Lucas and Spielberg will cast as young Indiana. Overall I don’t think badly of Shia Labeouf as a person, but I hate him as an action actor. If it were up to me, I would give a sitcom or talk show so I could quietly ignore him.    

Guest Blogger-DM

Entry filed under: Movies. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Hines Ward Really Jason Whitlock? Jeremy Lin Reaction

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sexy rexy  |  February 13, 2012 at 6:18 am

    Even Stevens is one of the greatest shows of all time. Based on that I can’t hate Shia.

    Reply
    • 2. dmrants  |  February 15, 2012 at 2:59 pm

      However, Shia should of never left those kind of roles. I agree he would make a great comedian but not an action star. Definitely not as a replacement for Harrison Ford as Indie lol.

      Reply
  • 4. Mike Frangione  |  February 14, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Reblogged this on It Depends on What the Meaning of the Word 'Blog' is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Twitter Updates


